Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

Journal of New Jersey Poets to Award Third Annual New Jersey Poets Prize

Recipient Charlotte Mandel and 18 Other Poets to Read Selected Works
The Journal of New Jersey Poets, headquartered at County College of Morris (CCM), has announced that it will be awarding its third annual New Jersey Poets Prize to Charlotte Mandel of West Caldwell.

The award will be presented to Mandel for her poem “Secret Model” at the National Poetry Month Reading and the Journal of New Jersey Poets publication party at County College of Morris (CCM) on Wednesday, April 25. The program will feature readings by Mandel and 19 other New Jersey poets including Pushcart Prize nominee John Bargowski. The event begins at 7 p.m. in the Student Community Center, Davidson Rooms, on the college’s Randolph campus, 214 Center Grove Road. Admission is free.

Mandel is the author of several books of poetry, including Rock Vein Sky, Sight Lines, The Marriages of Jacob and Keeping Him Alive. Included among her many awards and honors are a project grant from Montclair State University, fellowship grants from the New Jersey State Council of the Arts, an Open Voices award from The Writer’s Voice, a Norma Farber Award from the New England Poetry Club, and a Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation Fellowship at Yaddo.

Sander Zulauf, editor of the Journal of New Jersey Poets and professor of English at CCM, notes that Mandel has been a contributor of poetry to the Journal for decades.

“Charlotte Mandel’s poetry is a generous gift to all who read it,” said Zulauf. “Her work is stunning in its depth and brilliance, its subtle explorations and meteoric observations. Her winning poem, “Secret Model,” is an imagined monologue spoken by Helga Testorf, a neighbor of artist Andrew Wyeth (1917-2009), in Chadd’s Ford, Pennsylvania. Ms. Testorf was the subject of 240 previously unknown paintings and drawings by Mr. Wyeth that first came to light in 1986. “

Other poets scheduled to read at the award ceremony and publication party are John Barrale, Michael Burke, Theresa Burns, Linda Cronin, Dianne Feula, Gail Fishman Gerwin, Tina Kelley, Bill Kimzey, Frances Lombardi-Grahl, Judy Michaels, Priscilla Orr, Wanda Praisner, Jane Rawlings, Marvin Silbersher, BJ Ward, Julie Whitaker, Bill Zander, along with Professor Zulauf.

José Beviá, an award-winning CCM faculty musician, and Carol Hammersmith will also perform a selection of jazz pieces.