Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

CCM to Hold 43rd Commencement Ceremony

Associate’s Degrees to be Awarded to Nearly 1,300 Students
County College of Morris will present diplomas to the Class of 2012 at its 43rd commencement ceremony Thursday, May 24, starting at 7 p.m.

Nearly 1,300 students, who completed their studies between August 2011 and May 2012, will receive diplomas in one of four degrees: Associate in Arts, Associate in Fine Arts, Associate in Science or Associate in Applied Science. Some of the most popular programs CCM students will receive degrees in are Humanities Social Science (Liberal Arts), Business Administration, Nursing, Criminal Justice, Biology and Exercise Science.

Included among the top schools CCM graduates are transferring to are the Corcoran School of Art Design, Cornell University, Fordham University, Parsons The New School for Design, Purdue University and the Rochester Institute of Technology, along with New Jersey’s leading colleges and universities.
Holding to tradition, CCM President Edward J. Yaw will give the commencement address, using the opportunity to highlight outstanding students.
In an effort to advance world peace and human understanding, CCM also will award its Peace Prize at the ceremony. Students were invited to create works focused on the general theme of world peace. They were able to express themselves through a number of artistic forms including writing, music, dance or visual arts. The winner of the 2012 CCM Peace Prize is Kayla Yanga of Livingston who produced a video “Ready, Get Set, Take Action.” Her faculty mentor was Dr. Kenneth Shouler of the English and Philosophy Department. Yanga’s video can be viewed at www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHvVr6fZpcE&feature=player_embedded.
For her winning entry, Yanga will receive a $1,000 award, provided by the CCM Foundation, along with a plaque in recognition of her achievement. In addition, her name will be added to a permanent plaque located in CCM’s Student Community Center. Joshua Holden of Newton will receive Honorable Mention for his project "Spread the Peace." His faculty mentor was Professor Ray Kalas of the Information Technologies Department.
This is the 11th year the college is awarding the Peace Prize, which is organized and administered by Professor Peter Maguire of the English and Philosophy Department.
There will be a live broadcast of the commencement ceremony on Channel 40 on Verizon FiOS and METV Channel 77 on Cablevision. The college’s Media Center also will be streaming the ceremony on the CCM website, www.ccm.edu, so people can view it on their laptops, iPads and mobile devices.