Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

CCM to Hold 44th Commencement Ceremony

Associate’s Degrees to be Awarded to More than 1,100 Students - Posted 5/20/13
County College of Morris (CCM) will present diplomas to the Class of 2013 at its 44th commencement ceremony Thursday, May 23, starting at 7 p.m.

More than 1,100 students, who completed their studies between August 2012 and May 2013, will receive diplomas in one of four degrees: Associate in Arts, Associate in Fine Arts, Associate in Science or Associate in Applied Science. Some of the most popular programs CCM students will receive degrees in are Humanities Social Science (Liberal Arts), Business Administration, Nursing, Criminal Justice, Biology and Exercise Science.

Included among the top schools CCM graduates are transferring to are the University of Arizona, University of Massachusetts Amherst, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill , Oregon State University, Penn State University, University of Miami, University of South Florida, Fashion Institute of Technology, and Savannah College of Art and Design, along with New Jersey’s leading colleges and universities.

Holding to tradition, CCM President Edward J. Yaw will give the commencement address, using the opportunity to highlight outstanding students.

In an effort to advance world peace and human understanding, CCM also will announce the winner of its Peace Prize at the ceremony. Students were invited to create works focused on the general theme of world peace while expressing themselves through a number of artistic forms including writing, music, dance or visual arts. The winner of the 2013 CCM Peace Prize is Alisa Brescic of Budd Lake for her video essay “The Peace of the U.S.” Her faculty mentor was Professor Michelle Altieri of the English and Philosophy department. Brescic’s video can be viewed at http://tinyurl.com/akckdum.

A live broadcast of the commencement ceremony produced by the college’s Media Center will stream on the CCM website, www.ccm.edu. It will air online in hi-definition. There will also be live broadcasts of the ceremony on Channel 40 on Verizon FiOS and METV Channel 77 on Cablevision.